The Mbarara District Local Government Council recently elected new chairpersons for five sectoral committees, emphasizing the need for a concentrated effort on service delivery.

The District Council meeting, held at the Kamukuzi District Council Hall and presided over by District Speaker Venance Munanukye, was attended by key figures such as Mbarara District Chairperson Tabaro Didus Tumwesigye, RDC Mbarara Turyabagyenyi Emmanuel Kateera, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer Fred Tushabe Rugara, and various departmental heads.

Chairperson Tabaro extended congratulations to the newly elected leaders, acknowledging their roles in enhancing service delivery. Saverious Nuwagira, the political assistant and district councilor representing Bukiro Town Council, secured the position of Chairperson of Works and Technical Services through a secret ballot.

Other elected chairpersons for sectoral committees include Bishanga Julius, representing Rubaya Sub County, who will lead Production and Marketing; Mrs. Nasasira Memory, who will continue as Chairperson for Community-Based Services; Joseph Arinaitwe, elected as Chairperson for Finance, Planning, and Administration; and Ms. Agnes Natamba, who will head Social Services, overseeing education and health services.

RDC Mbarara Turyabagyenyi Emmanuel Kateera, addressing the Mbarara District Council, emphasized the importance of collective cooperation in achieving effective service delivery. He called for a focus on leaving a positive legacy for future leaders, emphasizing that success could only be achieved through teamwork among all stakeholders. Kateera warned against getting entangled in political conflicts, urging local leaders to prioritize service to the people and avoid wasting time on divisive politics.


Be the first to know when we have the latest news for you from our website.

Read the latest news we have for you from around the region and the world.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Written by:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected, if you need it, please seek permission from Boona FM Management!!