Eddie Kwizera Wa-gahungu, the National Resistance Movement (NRM) party flag bearer was last evening declared the winner of the Bukimbiri county by-election in Kisoro district. 
Kwizera garnered 12,214 votes while his rival independent candidate Asgario Turyagyenda got 10,105 votes.

 Another independent Edward Mutabazi got 308 votes while Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) flag bearer James Owebeyi got 280.

The Kisoro Returning Officer Daniel Nayebare says that the elections were peaceful since no cases of violence were recorded. 
After being declared the winner, Kwizera promised to advocate for better health, infrastructure, and education services.

Meawhile NRM’s   Derick Orone was  declared the winner of the Gogonyo County Parliamentary by-election.

Orone defeated his rival Joseph Okoboi Opolot of the National Unity Platform-NUP party with 19,199 votes against Opolot’s 519 votes.

The by-election attracted three candidates but two of the candidates who were nominated to contest announced that they had withdrawn from the race.

They include Okoboi and independent candidate Issa Bantalib Taligola who officially announced his withdrawal during a rally attended by President Yoweri Museveni in Obutete and Kaukura sub-counties in Pallisa District.
He said the election was generally peaceful although there was low voter turnout.  


Be the first to know when we have the latest news for you from our website.

Read the latest news we have for you from around the region and the world.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Written by:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected, if you need it, please seek permission from Boona FM Management!!